Posted by: Laurie | March 9, 2010

Penne Pasta with Meatsauce

Last night I cooked a recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman’s website. Ree Drummond amazes me with her ability to just whip up a new recipe.

We’ve made Pasta a la Marlboro Man before, but last night I made a few modifications.

Here’s my version of her recipe:

1 medium white onion, diced
3 large garlic cloves, minced
olive oil
2 pounds ground meat
28 oz can of diced tomatoes, with juices
6 oz can of tomato paste
salt and pepper, to taste
ground thyme, to taste
Parmesan cheese
Penne pasta

Dice the onion and mince the garlic.

If you don’t have a garlic zoom, I suggest you run out and buy one, right now. At least you should, if you hate mincing garlic as much as I do!

Swirl that around in a large pot with the olive oil (a couple tablespoons of olive oil will do) until the onion starts to turn translucent…about 3 or so minutes.

Then add the ground meat and cook until browned. Drain off the grease (I just tip the pot on its side and drain it with a large spoon into another bowl). Season with salt, pepper and thyme and stir the mixture around.

Add the tomatoes and tomato paste and allow to cook for a few minutes. Give it a taste to make sure it’s well seasoned.

Cook it, covered, for about 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Give it another taste and re-season if needed. Cook it, uncovered, while you boil the water for the pasta. Cook the pasta until it’s al dente and drain. Right before I drained out the pasta, I added some Parmesan cheese to the meat sauce.

Serve the meat sauce over the pasta and add more Parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

What the family thought:

Mark: I’ll take a small smackerel for lunch tomorrow!
Anthony: Mmmmm…can I have some for lunch tomorrow, too?
Benjamin: MORE!
Me: This is good, but if I was making this for just ME, I’d have added mushrooms, too!

Responses

  1. I’ll be making this for Mike and me and adding the mushrooms you talked about! Looks easy and yummy :o)

    What was your side item?

  2. Looks yummy Laurie. We love PW’s cookbook. Lots of good stuff. 🙂

  3. Sounds great—trying it this weekend. I think I might add in a can of rotel. Keep up this site—its really cool


Leave a Reply

Categories

