Posted by: Laurie | March 13, 2010

Magically Delicious!

One of the magazines that Mark and I subscribe to is Disney’s Family Fun. There are always cute crafts and good, kid-friendly recipes in each issue! Anthony and I have made many of the crafts and they’re easy but interesting to do.

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, Baton Rouge has a St. Patrick’s Day parade the weekend before the actual day. I decided to try out a recipe I found in the Family Fun magazine: Rainbow Cupcakes. They turned out GREAT and are adorable!

Rainbow Cupcakes
White cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)
Food coloring (red, yellow, green, blue)
Muffin cups
Frosting for the tops (optional)
Sprinkles (optional)

Prepare the cake mix according to the package’s instructions. Divide the prepared batter evenly among six bowls. (I used just less than 1/2 C for each bowl, and it divided almost evenly). Dye each batter according to the list below:

Red: 18 red drops
Orange: 12 yellow and 4 red drops
Yellow: 12 yellow drops
Green: 12 green drops
Blue: 12 blue drops
Purple: 9 red and 6 blue drops

Line muffin pan with cups. Evenly distribute the purple batter among the cups, then the blue, green, yellow, orange, and finally the red. As you go, gently spread each color of batter over the top. (I didn’t do this; I just used a kitchen spoon to drizzle the batter over the top – and that pretty much evenly coated each layer)

Bake the cupcakes according to the package’s instructions. Allow to cool slightly in the pan, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

If desired, cover each cupcake with a frosting cloud and sprinkle rainbow sprinkles on top.

My box mix only made 12 cupcakes. I had to cut the tops off of the cupcakes so they’d be easier to ice. I iced them using Duncan Hines whipped frosting. I put the frosting into a ziploc bag and cut the end off. I tried to do a swirl on top of the cupcakes, but I’m not so great at that!

These were easier to make than I thought they would be.

Now I’m searching for ideas on how to make Anthony think that leprechauns came to visit him over night on St. Patrick’s Day. Last year I dyed his milk green, but he had a hard time drinking it! I think they will bring him Lucky Charms cereal again (he loves them, but I don’t usually buy them) and maybe they’ll leave him a pot o’ gold or something. Any suggestions?

Responses

  1. Do your hair all crazy like you did last year and act all surprised. I thought that was hilarious. The green toilet water was funny too. Since green milk was gross maybe put Sprite or 7UP in the fridge if that is something you don’t usually buy.

  2. Oh my – made the cupcakes tonight – they are so cute! Will keep a few for a picnic with Tanner & Morgan – the rest are going to work for a St. Patty’s potluck.

    Yeah – thanks! I’m dying the water green in their toilets – and I’m also going to have green smoothies tomorrow morning.


Leave a Reply

Categories

