Posted by: Laurie | March 28, 2010

Strawberries and Alcohol? Yes, Please!

Mark was browsing through some websites and came across Our Life in the Kitchen. The website was featuring a week’s worth of strawberry recipes, and when he saw this one, he knew I would love it.

Louisiana strawberries are in season, and they are delicious! When we were at our local produce stand yesterday, I bought a flat of strawberries and decided immediately that I needed to try this drink. It has no name, yet, but I’m suggesting that it be called:

Not Your Sonic Strawberry Limeade (long, I know):
3-4 large strawberries
sugar (or simple syrup)
ice
Malibu rum
Bacardi (or other) rum
Club soda
Lime wedge
1 small(ish) strawberry

Are these not the most beautiful strawberries? Just looking at them makes me want to eat some…so I will!

Please be sure to wash your strawberries first! Then cut up 3-4 large strawberries and put them in the bottom of a tall glass.

Add the sugar (or simple syrup; I didn’t have time to make any simple syrup, so I just used sugar. Next time I’ll make the syrup!) and mash the strawberries in the glass.

Fill the glass with ice.

Add a shot of Malibu, a shot of the other rum, and fill the glass with the club soda. I do not own a shot glass (I know, I know! That will be remedied), so I just poured in what looked like the right amounts. I, um, overestimated on the rum…whoops!

Cut a lime into wedges and squeeze one lime wedge into the drink, then toss the lime into the drink! (You put the lime in the coconut…)

Give it a little stir and take a taste! Then laugh when your husband has the first taste and his eyes bug out of their sockets. Yeah, it was a little strong. So we sipped off the top and added more club soda.

Make it pretty by cutting a slit into a small(ish) strawberry and adding it to the rim of the glass.

This is definitely going to become a summer favorite for me!

Not Your Sonic Strawberry Limeade
3-4 large strawberries
sugar (or simple syrup)
ice
Malibu rum
Bacardi (or other) rum
Club soda
Lime wedge
1 small(ish) strawberry

Wash 3-4 large strawberries and slice. Place in the bottom of a tall glass. Add a teaspoon or so of sugar (or a drizzle or two of simple syrup) and mash the strawberries. Fill the glass with ice. Add a shot of Malibu and a shot of rum. Fill the glass with club soda. Squeeze a lime wedge into the glass and then toss the lime wedge in. Give the drink a stir and garnish the glass with a small(ish) strawberry.

Responses

  1. Okay, we are going to have to try this drink. I love strawberries and my husband likes to pretend he is a bartender; perfect combination. Thanks Laurie and Mark.


Leave a Reply

Categories

