Posted by: Laurie | April 8, 2010

Hamburger Steak

Sorry for the absence, folks. We went to Spring, TX to visit my brother-in-law. Amazingly, we cooked quite a bit there, and I wish I had taken pictures to blog about the cinnamon rolls I made, but my photographer was otherwise occupied with a sick and cranky baby while I slaved away making the cinnamon rolls. So that will be a post for another day…

And, hey, if you like Mahi Mahi and spinach, you ought to go here and try the Mahi-Mahi with Chopped Pecans Warm Spinach Salad. It was delicious. You should try it. Right now.

Or, you could try this:

Hamburger Steak
1 pound ground meat (I used 80/20 today, but I usually use a leaner meat)
1 yellow onion, half thinly sliced and half diced
Garlic, 2 toes minced
Mushrooms, roughly chopped
Garlic powder
Tony’s (Cajun Seasoning)
Flour
Water (between 1/2 – 1 C)
Beef Bouillon cubes

This is an “original” recipe of mine. In quotes because, seriously, it’s not a hard little meal to make, and I know that a million people before me have made Hamburger Steak (and probably have made it better). It’s a favorite of Anthony’s; until recently, this was his meal-of-choice at Piccadilly (his favorite restaurant). But tonight I was in the mood for comfort food, and this fit the bill perfectly.

Slice half of the onion thinly and dice the other half. Mince the garlic.

Season the beef with garlic powder and Tony’s; add diced onion and half of the minced garlic. Mix well and form into patties. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes.

Cook the sliced onion, half of the minced garlic and the mushrooms in a bit of olive oil in a large cast iron skillet.

Remove the onion mixture from the skillet and set aside. Cook the patties in the same skillet until brown on both sides, and cooked throughout.

Add the onion mixture back into the skillet just as the patties are finished cooking. Remove the patties once done and put them in the oven to keep warm.

Pour about 1/2 C of water into the skillet and use a whisk to scrape the bottom of the skillet. If the gravy seems thin, add about 1 tablespoon of flour. Season the gravy with salt and pepper to taste. Add a beef bouillon cube if the gravy seems to be lacking in flavor (the last time I made this, I had to add the bouillon. This time I did not).

If you’re like me and have a habit of over seasoning things, add another 1/2 C of water and tablespoon of flour. It will all be fine. Trust me. (That silver circle in the picture is a ladle, by the way)

As a side dish tonight, I cooked homemade mashed potatoes. This is seriously simple:

Mashed Poatoes
This will probably feed four adults.

2 medium – large white potatoes
Salt
Butter
Milk

Wash, peel and cube the potatoes. Place in a large pot and cover with water. Season with salt. Boil the potatoes until they are soft. Drain. Mash with milk and butter to make them creamy. Add more salt if necessary.

I also served the meal with some corn that I cut off the cob. I had boiled some corn last week and just added this last minute to throw a veggie into the meal.

Thoughts about the meal:
Mark: Less onion in the patties

Laurie: More mushrooms. Always, more mushrooms.

Anthony: Mphpmmpmmmhmpmm… (translation: this is delicious, Mom)

Benjamin: wouldn’t touch the meat until we took it off the plate and put it directly on the high chair tray. Then the food diseappeared.

Leave a Reply

Categories

