Posted by: Laurie | April 20, 2010

Blackened Catfish

This is something we have done in the past and felt like giving it a shot on the website.

Here are the ingredients to the spice mix:

spices

We have sugar, thyme, cayenne, black pepper, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, paprika and salt. (The original recipe came from For The Love of Cooking) I omitted the nutmeg; it didn’t seem to fit. I also doubled the amounts, and since we love that extra kick I used the full amount of cayenne.

We originally started with three very large catfish filets. When Laurie’s sister and fiance decided to join us, they brought along two more filets to add to the pile.

catfish filets

I drizzled a little bit of olive oil over the filets and put a heavy coat of the spice mix on the filets.

coated filets

A little forethought went a long way during the cooking process. I decided to cook the fish outside on the BBQ. If you haven’t blackened food before, there is a tendency for it get quite smokey. For this, as should everyone, I used our cast iron skillet. I cranked the heat up on the BBQ and let the skillet get quite hot before I put in the fish.

cast iron

I tried to get a picture prior to the first filets where I had a few pats of butter melting, but here is one after the first two filets were done.

I started spice side down and flipped them after a minute or two. I cooked the fish until it started to flake.

And here is the finish product.

cooked fish

You could use this same spice mix on almost any fish, and it would still be very good.

Laurie and her sister fixed some sautéed new potatoes and zucchini to go with the fish. They also made a nice fruit salad that complemented the spicy bite of the fish.

-Mark

Leave a Reply

Categories

