Posted by: Laurie | June 23, 2010

Pancakes

I love pancakes. I love them for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or as a cold snack in the middle of the night. I can eat them hot off the griddle, or rewarmed in the microwave. I’m not picky about how I eat my pancakes. I am picky, though, about the recipe. It’s one that my sisters and I have made with our dad since we were little girls. It’s the whole reason I bought the Talk About Good II cookbook. The page has a paper clip on it so I’ll never have to search for the page, and it has all kinds of spills and stains on the page. And yes, I pull out the cook book every. single. time. I make pancakes. I don’t know why, since I have the recipe committed to memory. I think it’s just a comfort thing.

This summer, the boys and I have had pancakes at least once each week. And when I’m feeling lazy, we’ll have pancakes for dinner, too. Did I mention that I love pancakes? Don’t get me started on syrup.

OK, I’ll get started on syrup. I always thought it was funny that Mark and his brothers have different preferences on their syrup. I mean, it’s just syrup, right? Oh, how wrong I was. And believe me, they have expounded on how wrong I was. And now Anthony (my older son) has definite preferences. For a long time all we had in the house was Mrs. Butterworths. Now we have Log Cabin, too, because Anthony had it with Uncle Matt at his Nana’s house. And now he only wants Log Cabin.

Here are my observations about the syrups:
1: Mrs. Butterworths is thicker.
2: Log Cabin has no high fructose corn syrup.

The end.

So now on to this fabulous pancake recipe, and my advice on how NOT to ruin them!

Pancakes
1 C flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp sugar
½ tsp salt
¾ C milk
2 tbsp butter, melted
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp vanilla

Sift together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Add milk and beaten egg and stir until well mixed. Add butter and vanilla and stir a few more times.

Cook on an electric griddle at 350 degrees (or on a non-stick pan over medium heat). DO NOT use any grease or cooking spray. Pour the batter in medium circles and do not touch until many bubbles start to form on top of the pancakes.

(See those pancakes on the right? They’re ready to flip. The ones on the far left are not)

Flip the pancakes and cook about 1 to 2 more minutes. DO NOT touch the pancakes, or you will flatten them.

(You want them to be pretty and golden like this on both sides)

When they are nice and golden brown on each side, remove to plates. Use your favorite syrup and enjoy while hot! (Or, you know, eat them whenever and however you like)

Also, if you’re feeling fancy, you can get a ketchup squirt bottle at the dollar store and fill it with pancake batter. Then use it to squirt all kinds of cool shapes onto your griddle. My older sister, Kristen, was in town this past weekend and she made these kinds of pancakes. Anthony got a dragon and a dinosaur. Benjamin got a Mickey Mouse head (I can do that by just pouring, thank goodness) and a moose. My dad got a tomahawk and an Atlanta Braves “A”. I’m just not that good. My tomahawk would probably look like a moose and my dinosaur would probably look like a Mickey Mouse head if I tried that. She’s the artist in the family, and we like it that way.

Responses

  1. Ahh – the syrup selection is crucial to a good pancake! That said, we debate whether its Grade A Amber or Grade B that is better. My preference lays with the Grade B Maple Syrup – dark, thick, with a fantastic maple flavor that soaks right into a good pancake (or waffle, french toast, or even ice cream). When we tap the maple trees around the yard, I’ve only ever been able to make Grade B, so its a good thing its the house favorite!

    If you ever feel the need to make a trip up to Maine, there will be pancakes and local syrup waiting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

