Posted by: Laurie | March 25, 2011

Pesto Shrimp Pasta

Last night we celebrated my late grandmother’s 90th birthday with a glass of Chardonnay and a new shrimp recipe. Maw Maw died less than two years ago, and sometimes the loss of her is still fresh. Celebrating her birthday was a good way to remember and honor her.

My parents, younger sister, Mark, Anthony, Benjamin and I were all here, so this recipe is scaled to feed all of us, with leftovers (we LOVE leftovers)! I didn’t take any pictures of the process, and only got a picture of my plate from today’s lunch as proof that I did cook this! But you have GOT to try this recipe. It was SO. GOOD.

I was browsing the internet looking for something to do with the shrimp that didn’t involve frying, heavy cream, sour cream, or cream cheese. I wanted light, easy, and delicious.

I found…nothing. Oh, I’m sure there are delicious recipes out there, but in my quick scan, I found one recipe that I liked but it was just so plain. Shrimp, pesto, pasta – that’s it. It looked good, but I thought it needed more.

So I gave it more.

Pesto Shrimp Pasta
(Feeds: an army)

5 pounds of shrimp, beheaded, peeled and deveined (so for those of you who don’t get it: it was five pounds BEFORE the beheading, peeling, and deveining)
Butter, olive oil, seasoning
Pasta (enough to feed that army)
Mushrooms (an entire container), diced small
White wine (I just poured out of the bottle, but I guess it was 1/2 C)
Artichokes (one can, drained), cut into bite-size pieces
Pesto (your own recipe, or 1 jar of Classico)
Pine nuts
Feta cheese
Lemons, for juicing and zesting – I forgot this last night!

Get the water going for your pasta and set the pasta to boil until it’s done to your liking; drain.

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil and butter, each over medium heat. Season the shrimp as you’re tossing them into the pan to cook (I used Tony Chachere’s seasoning). Cook the shrimp on both sides, about 2-3 minutes, and then remove from the pan. Add a little more butter and the mushrooms. Cook the mushrooms for about 3 minutes. Add wine and deglaze the pan. Add lemon juice (just squeeze some in) and artichokes and cook until artichokes are warm. Turn off the heat and add the pasta, shrimp and pesto. Toss all together to coat the pasta and shrimp. Taste and add some salt if you need it (I thought it did).

Serve warm with pine nuts, feta cheese and lemon zest on top.

I know I’m not a great photographer, so just trust me that this is DELICIOUS.

Leave a Reply

Categories

